Adventures in Poetry

Eclectic Alli

I have been granted a challenge,
in honor of Poetry Month,
to try and compose,
something different than rambling prose.

I don’t claim to be a poet,
but occasionally I like to try.
Sometimes the words will flow,
and the ideas will grow,
and I find myself enmeshed,
in the medium that works best,
to convey the scattered thoughts,
passing images.
Music without notes,
with space for dreams to fill.

As a child I thought,
all poems ought,
to do their best,
to reach and wrest,
to speak of dreams,
and flowery things.

I stretched my brain,
feeling half insane,
to find the words,
sometimes absurd,
to make the rhyme,
every time.

As time went on,
(the rhyming not quite gone),
I spread my wings,
and tried new things.
Exploring the ways,
I could alter a phrase,
in ways to convey,
what I was trying to say.

It is…

View original post 61 more words

Leave a Reply

